A deliciously healthier version of the classic Kellogg’s ‘squares’ Rice Krispie Bars. These are either vegan or keto, depending on the marshmallows you’re able to source. Ultra chewy and crispy, but still with added protein.
What ingredients do I need to make these chewy protein rice krispie treats?
Plant based butter: Use a block form of plant based butter. Ensure it’s soy free and seed free if necessary.
Salt: to balance the flavours
Marshmallows: these can be vegan or keto and sugar free marshmallows and can be pink and white (to make them the colour in the images) or just white, if you’d like them pure white.. I can’t find a brand that’s currently vegan and sugar free, but if you can, these can be vegan and sugar free. Otherwise they’re either vegan (with sugar) or keto (but containing gelatin, and without sugar). They’re still gluten, dairy and egg free though.
Puffed rice cereal: if you’re looking for these to be completely sugar free, you can use brown puffed rice (for example from Rude Health). If these are only vegan (but not sugar free) you can use Kellogg’s classic rice krispie cereal – which I recommend for the best ‘crunch’. Or you can make them higher protein if you can source some puffed protein crispies.
Unflavoured protein powder: You could also use a vanilla protein powder, but I prefer not to have the taste of sweeteners that are often in flavoured protein powders and so make these with just unflavoured protein powder.
A complete list of ingredients, quantities and instructions are in the grey recipe card at the bottom of the page
Are these free from gluten, dairy and egg?
If you use vegan marshmallows these will be free from gluten, dairy and egg. Double check the packaging to ensure that your ingredients are completely free from and if someone’s super allergic that there’s no ‘may contain because made in a factory…’
Are these sugar free?
If you can source both vegan AND sugar free marshmallows, then using brown puffed rice, these can be plant based and sugar free. Otherwise, to make these sugar free you’ll likely need to use keto marshmallows, which will contain animal gelatin.
Keto marshmallows: Free’ist Marshmallows
How to make:
Melt the butter mixed with salt, add in the marshmallows to slowly melt on a low heat until just melted and remove from the heat.
Then, acting quickly, fold in the plant based protein powder and the puffed rice.
Transfer to a lined and greased baking tin and press down with the back of the silicone spatula until an even layer is formed.
Allow to set in the fridge, then slice into 16 bars 5x5cm.
How to store:
Store in an airtight container at room temperature for 3-5 days.
Tips for making the best chewy protein rice krispie treats:
It’s really important not to overcook the marshmallows. As soon as most of them have melted, remove from the heat and act quickly with the following steps.
Chewy Protein Rice Krispie Treats
- 35 grams plant based butter block not spread
- 1/16 tsp fine salt
- 185 grams vegan and sugar free marshmallows or just vegan or just sugar free
- 140 grams puffed rice cereal or rice krispie cereal
- 20 grams unflavoured plant based protein powder
- Line a 20cm square tin with parchment paper, greased with a little plant based butter. In a non-stick saucepan, melt the plant based butter with the salt on a low heat.
- Add the marshmallows (still on a low heat) and stir continuously, scrape the sides down with a silicone spatula. As soon as they begin to melt and are mostly melted, remove from the heat. It’s important not to over cook the marshmallows as they’ll get over-sticky and tough to chew.
- Sprinkle in the protein powder and briefly fold through, then fold in the brown puffed rice or rice krispies until evenly coated. You must act quickly as it will begin to solidify if not. Transfer the mixture to the lined tin and press down with the back of the spatula to form an even layer.
- Pop it in the fridge for 20 minutes to solidify. Then transfer to a chopping board and slice into 16 squares (each 5cm wide - use a ruler to slice).
You can use regular butter if you don't want them dairy free. Ensure your marshmallows are vegan (they may not be sugar free) or keto and sugar free (but note they will not be vegan)